Underground by Big Ben…



Underground…, originally uploaded by Tor-Ivar.

Visiting London this week… and I had a chance this evening to stroll around the city, taking some “London by night”-shots 🙂

This is one of the results… Thought this one could be a cool shot… Big Ben is in the background here.

Taken with Canon 5D and Sigma 24-70 f2.8.

hm… I suddenly realized that my postprocessing of this one have gone wrong… :-s … using my work laptop for post processing photos is not ideal… :-s (EDIT: Fixed the image now… )

~ by Tor-Ivar on January 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Underground by Big Ben…”

  1. hahaaa! postprocessing is a b*tch to learn, well at least it is for me cuz i’m so not tech savvy. hehee. i love the angle you choose to take this shot! really cool. how’d you do it? tripod? i’m totally new at night photography so i wanna learn. ;p

  2. When doing night photo I choose one of two strategies; I either 1) use A(v) mode to choose the largest aperture on my lens, and crank the ISO relatively high (around 1600), without any tripod. That usually gives me shutterspeeds that I can manage just by holding the cam in my hands.. or I 2) use a tripod, iso 100 and f between 5.6 and 13 (either in A or M mode on my cam). Depending on the subject and the available light, one of these two approaches tend to work for me 🙂 Good luck with your night photography 🙂 send me a link if u wanna share after you try it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
